Catalogue

Amazon cover image
Image from Amazon.com

The cautious traveller's guide to the Wastelands : a novel / Sarah Brooks.

By: Material type: TextTextPublication details: New York : Flatiron Books, 2024.Edition: 1st edDescription: ix, 316 p. : ill. ; 25 cmISBN:
  • 9781250878618 (hardcover)
Other title:
  • Cautious traveler's guide to the Wastelands
Subject(s): Genre/Form: DDC classification:
  • [Fic] 23
Contents:
Map of the Great Trans-Siberian Express -- Part One. Days 1--2 -- 1. The Liar -- 2. The Child of the Train -- 3. The Naturalist -- 4. Fellow Travellers -- 5. The Wall -- 6. The First Night -- 7. In the Morning -- 8. On Forms and Classifications -- 9. Shadows -- Part Two. Days 3--4 -- 1. The Lake -- 2. The Captain's Quarters -- 3. Night Wanderings -- 4. The Tides -- 5. The Not-Quite-Girl -- Part Three. Days 5--8 -- 1. Elena -- 2. Obstacles -- 3. The Game -- 4. The Cartographer -- 5. The Skylight -- 6. Valentin's Fire -- 7. The Storm -- 8. Visions -- 9. The End of the Line -- Part Four. Days 9--14 -- 1. The Ghost Rails -- 2. Secrets -- 3. Prayers -- 4. Wraiths -- 5. Stopped -- 6. Outside -- 7. In the Wilderness -- 8. Consequences -- 9. Captivity -- 10. Mutations -- Part Five. Days 15--17 -- 1. Hauntings -- 2. Crossing the Line -- 3. Eden -- 4. A Breach -- 5. Threads -- 6. Lost Time -- 7. Wings -- 8. To the Source -- 9. Doorways and Webs -- Part Six. Days 18--20 -- 1. Changes -- 2. The Wall -- 3. The Forest -- 4. The Game, Again -- 5. Birds of Ill-Omen -- 6. The End of Henry Grey -- 7. Decisions, Risks -- 8. Awakening -- Part Seven. Days 21--23 -- 1. Onward -- 2. The Glass Palace -- 3. The Child of the Train -- Epilogue.
Summary: "For fans of Piranesi and The Midnight Library, a stunning historical fantasy novel set on a grand express train, about a group of passengers on a dangerous journey across a magical landscape. It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket. There is only one way to travel across the Wastelands: on the Trans-Siberian Express, a train as famous for its luxury as for its danger. The train is never short of passengers, eager to catch sight of Wastelands creatures more miraculous and terrifying than anything they could imagine. But on the train's last journey, something went horribly wrong, though no one seems to remember what exactly happened. Not even Zhang Weiwei, who has spent her life onboard and thought she knew all of the train's secrets. Now, the train is about to embark again, with a new set of passengers. Among them are Marya Petrovna, a grieving woman with a borrowed name; Henry Grey, a disgraced naturalist looking for redemption; and Elena, a beguiling stowaway with a powerful connection to the Wastelands itself. Weiwei knows she should report Elena, but she can't help but be drawn to her. As the girls begin a forbidden friendship, there are warning signs that the rules of the Wastelands are changing, and the train might once again be imperiled. Can the passengers trust each other, as the wildness outside threatens to consume them all?"-- Provided by publisher.
Tags from this library: No tags from this library for this title. Log in to add tags.
Holdings
Item type Current library Collection Call number Status Date due Barcode Item holds
Fiction             Fiction West Grey Durham Branch Shelves Fiction FIC BRO (Browse shelf(Opens below)) Checked out 07/23/2024 33321003258044
Total holds: 0

Map of the Great Trans-Siberian Express -- Part One. Days 1--2 -- 1. The Liar -- 2. The Child of the Train -- 3. The Naturalist -- 4. Fellow Travellers -- 5. The Wall -- 6. The First Night -- 7. In the Morning -- 8. On Forms and Classifications -- 9. Shadows -- Part Two. Days 3--4 -- 1. The Lake -- 2. The Captain's Quarters -- 3. Night Wanderings -- 4. The Tides -- 5. The Not-Quite-Girl -- Part Three. Days 5--8 -- 1. Elena -- 2. Obstacles -- 3. The Game -- 4. The Cartographer -- 5. The Skylight -- 6. Valentin's Fire -- 7. The Storm -- 8. Visions -- 9. The End of the Line -- Part Four. Days 9--14 -- 1. The Ghost Rails -- 2. Secrets -- 3. Prayers -- 4. Wraiths -- 5. Stopped -- 6. Outside -- 7. In the Wilderness -- 8. Consequences -- 9. Captivity -- 10. Mutations -- Part Five. Days 15--17 -- 1. Hauntings -- 2. Crossing the Line -- 3. Eden -- 4. A Breach -- 5. Threads -- 6. Lost Time -- 7. Wings -- 8. To the Source -- 9. Doorways and Webs -- Part Six. Days 18--20 -- 1. Changes -- 2. The Wall -- 3. The Forest -- 4. The Game, Again -- 5. Birds of Ill-Omen -- 6. The End of Henry Grey -- 7. Decisions, Risks -- 8. Awakening -- Part Seven. Days 21--23 -- 1. Onward -- 2. The Glass Palace -- 3. The Child of the Train -- Epilogue.

"For fans of Piranesi and The Midnight Library, a stunning historical fantasy novel set on a grand express train, about a group of passengers on a dangerous journey across a magical landscape. It is said there is a price that every passenger must pay. A price beyond the cost of a ticket. There is only one way to travel across the Wastelands: on the Trans-Siberian Express, a train as famous for its luxury as for its danger. The train is never short of passengers, eager to catch sight of Wastelands creatures more miraculous and terrifying than anything they could imagine. But on the train's last journey, something went horribly wrong, though no one seems to remember what exactly happened. Not even Zhang Weiwei, who has spent her life onboard and thought she knew all of the train's secrets. Now, the train is about to embark again, with a new set of passengers. Among them are Marya Petrovna, a grieving woman with a borrowed name; Henry Grey, a disgraced naturalist looking for redemption; and Elena, a beguiling stowaway with a powerful connection to the Wastelands itself. Weiwei knows she should report Elena, but she can't help but be drawn to her. As the girls begin a forbidden friendship, there are warning signs that the rules of the Wastelands are changing, and the train might once again be imperiled. Can the passengers trust each other, as the wildness outside threatens to consume them all?"-- Provided by publisher.

There are no comments on this title.

to post a comment.

The support of the Government of Ontario, through the Ministry of Tourism and Culture, is acknowledged.


Copyright @ 2009-2023, Saugeen Library Consortium. All rights reserved.


Powered by Koha